WTF: MTV Announces OMA Nominees – But Who Needs Another Awards Show?

Having done their part to ruin music, MTV is now setting its sights on the internet.

Johnny Firecloudby Johnny Firecloud


Let me get this straight – the current unending barrage of awards shows apparently still leaves something to be desired among the world of self-congratulatory back-patters and trophy handlers. Rather than actually attempt to make the existing award shows remotely interesting by revamping the production and adding a little original entertainment value, MTV has added a new ceremony to the list: the OMAs.

MTV’s newly inaugurated O Music Awards, to be held April 28, is the former music network's attempt to capitalize on the popularity of internet fads with an assortment of thinly-veiled gimmick categories. To pander to their young and ever-distracted audience, they’ve created another awards ceremony, their fourth, to honor digital music and all the trappings of a generation obsessed with all things meme.

Producers are leaving the “O” in OMAs undefined, likely because "Online" is a bit too obvious, but it's better to dance around that with a fake air of mystery than to risk lawsuit obliteration from Apple by putting an "i" for "Internet" at the front of the ceremony title.

The event will be “honoring” viral videos (because we haven't seen enough of Antoine Dodson, Rebecca Black & Charlie Sheen), fan covers of popular songs, musicians who tweet, animated GIFs, and a lot of really bad jokes attempting to capitalize on popular memes from several months ago.

The show is going to be webcast live, with votes being cast on social media sites and shown in real time. Categories include best fan cover, most viral dance and best music hashtag meme.

The April 28th event will be live-streamed on,, and as well as all mobile platforms.

Lady Gaga and rapper Tyler the Creator are among the nominees for most innovative artist and must-follow artist on Twitter. Lady Gaga is also nominated for favorite animated GIF, a kind of avatar. Tyler the Creator, of the much buzzed-about hip-hop group Odd Future, is also nominated for his remix of Lykke Li’s “Follow Rivers.”

Winners will be decided by fan voting in social media, with the results shown in real-time. The awards will be presented in a live hour-long webcast on MTV websites and mobile apps.

Check out some of the O Music Awards nominees:
Best Fan Cover:
    •    Scampi
    •    Mike Tompkins
    •    Maria Aragon
    •    PS22 Chorus
    •    Jorge and Alexa Narvaez
    •    Alex Goot

Innovative Music Video:
    •    Arcade Fire
    •    Robyn
    •    Chris Milk
    •    Cassius
    •    Sour
    •    OK Go
    •    Das Racist
    •    Craig Wedren
    •    Andy Grammer

Fan Army FTW:
    •    Beliebers
    •    Little Monsters
    •    Taylor Gang
    •    Barbiez
    •    Clouds
    •    Echelon
    •    Killjoys & MCRmy
    •    Aliens/Tokio Hotel Fans
    •    Katy Kats
    •    Rihanna Navy
    •    Glamberts

Innovative Artist:
    •    Radiohead
    •    Tyler the Creator
    •    Kanye West
    •    Lady GaGa
    •    Lil B
    •    The Flaming Lips
    •    iamamiwhoami

Must Follow Artist on Twitter:
    •    Kanye West
    •    Nicki Minaj
    •    Amanda Palmer
    •    Tyler the Creator
    •    50 Cent
    •    Ted Leo
    •    ?uestlove
    •    Lady GaGa

NSFW Music Video:
    •    Yuck
    •    M.I.A.
    •    The Flaming Lips
    •    Earl Sweatshirt
    •    UNKLE

Most Viral Dance:
    •    The Dougie
    •    The Berney Dance
    •    Willow Smith’s “Whip My Hair” Dance
    •    Lil B’s “Cooking” Dance
    •    Ginuwine Pony

Favorite Animated GIF:
    •    Justin Bieber
    •    Lady GaGa
    •    50 Cent, Rebecca Black, and Bert
    •    50 Cent, Bert and Kermit
    •    Katy Perry
    •    Mariah Carey
    •    Rihanna & Katy Perry
    •    Whitney Houston
    •    Nicki Minaj

Best Fan Forum:
    •    Justin Bieber
    •    Michael Jackson
    •    Phish
    •    Britney Spears
    •    Animal Collective

Best Remix:
    •    Andre Benjamin aka Andre 3000
    •    Birdman
    •    Tyler the Creator
    •    Miami Horror
    •    Hercules & Love Affair
    •    Skrillex

Best iTunes LP:
    •    Gorillaz – “Plastic Beach”
    •    Bruce Springsteen – “The Promise”
    •    The Beatles – “The Beatles Stereo Box Set”
    •    Talib Kweli – “Reflection Eternal/Revolutions Per Minute” (Deluxe Version)
    •    Pink – “Greatest Hits… So Far!!!”
    •    Janelle Monae – “The ArchAndroid” (Deluxe)