Listen To NIN, Depeche Mode, Killers Cover U2 For Tribute

The most heavily anticipated covers have arrived from U2's Achtung Baby tribute album. Listen!

Johnny Firecloudby Johnny Firecloud

            We've heard Jack White's incredible take on "Love Is Blindness," and we've weathered the hit-or-miss deliveries of "One" by Damien Rice and Garbage's "Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses" in the run-up to the release of Q Magazine’s AHK-toong BAY-bi covers album. The record, featuring all-star takes on classics from U2's landmark album Achtung Baby, has escaped the high-security clutches assigned to guard it, and we have even more sample sounds for you below.

            This morning, Depeche Mode’s take on "So Cruel," The Killers’ "Ultraviolet (Light My Way)" and the first new music from Nine Inch Nails in years arrived with a so-so "Zoo Station" cover, in tandem with Glasvegas handling the track "Acrobat".

            Depeche Mode’s track is an electric-wash of the Achtung Baby. highlight, with a measured and impressive performance that retains the energy of the original but adds shades of their own signature that arrive with perfect sonic balance. Check it out below, and watch out for the synths coming out of that chorus:

            The Killers’ rendition of "Ultraviolet (Light My Way)" features a piano-led intro that gives way to a rather exhilarating take on one of the best U2 songs ever written. They capture a good bit of the track's magic, but ultimately lack the ultimate gravity of the original:

          Nine Inch Nails' hotly anticipated version of "Zoo Station" strikes the ears as something of a disappointment, trading the grinding, sex-washed guitars for a nearly ethereal wall of synths. Trent Reznor’s approach more reserved than anticipated, a wave crash that never fully arrives. With the NIN brand attached, most had assumed that the track would be a thorny blast of rock from Reznor & longtime collaborator Atticus Ross. Hear the track over at Stereogum

Then we have "Acrobat" by Glasvegas, an effects-heavy whirlpool of squealing guitars, filtered vocals and stuttered percussion:

            Tracks from Patti Smith, the Fray, Snow Patrol and Gavin Friday remain, which don't interest the masses nearly as much as the tracks we've heard above. The tribute record, which is included with Q Magazine's issue #305 (on shelves today). Below is the full tracklist:

01 Nine Inch Nails – “Zoo Station”
02 U2 – “Even Better Than The Real Thing (Jacques Lu Cont Mix)”
03 Damien Rice – “One”
04 Patti Smith – “Until The End Of The World”
05 Garbage – “Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses”
06 Depeche Mode – “So Cruel”
07 Snow Patrol – “Mysterious Ways”
08 The Fray – “Trying To Throw Your Arms Around The World”
09 Gavin Friday – “The Fly”
10 The Killers – “Ultraviolet (Light My Way)”
11 Glasvegas – “Acrobat”
12 Jack White – “Love Is Blindness”