Tribeca Film Festival wraps up

The 10th annual Tribeca Film Festival comes to a conclusion.

Jennifer Coxby Jennifer Cox

Co-founded by Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal and Craig Hatkoff, the 10th annual Tribeca Film Festival saw 93 feature films and 60 short films from 40 countries across the globe this year – the winners of TFF 2011 were recently announced as the event wrapped up Sunday night.

For the first time, two new annual awards in the narrative competition (Best Cinematography and Best Screenplay) were handed out as well as one in the documentary competition (Best Editing), and for the second year in a row, the public had an opportunity to choose a winner – online viewers voted for the best Tribeca (Online) Film Festival awards, including Best Feature and Best Short. "Give Up Tomorrow," a documentary about a teenaged culinary student who was arrested in 1997 for the kidnap, rape and murder of two sisters in the Philippines, was the recipient of the audience award, and accolades were also handed out to She Monkeys (Best Narrative Feature), Bombay Beach (Best Documentary Feature), The Journals of Musan (Best New Narrative Director), and Like Water (Best New Documentary Director).

“It’s wonderful to have reached our 10th edition and to be able to celebrate with all of these gifted filmmakers. We’ve been fortunate that as we have grown we have remained a place that welcomes a diverse range of stories told by compelling and exciting filmmakers,” said festival co-Founder Jane Rosenthal in an official press release. “We are truly honoured that the community has supported the Festival all these years – the community of New York and the international film community.”