2012 Pro Bowl Preview

A quick look at the last game before the big game.

James LeBeauby James LeBeau

With the Super Bowl still a week away, the only NFL game we have to look forward to is the Pro Bowl which will take place this coming Sunday at 7 pm on NBC. Traditionally, this matchup takes place in beautiful Hawaii and pits mostly the best of the best in each conference against each other. I say mostly because traditionally, a good portion of the initially selected participants drop out due to injury or participation in the Super Bowl, thus opening the door for many alternates to make the roster.

Currently, the NFC holds the edge in the series 21-20 and the AFC will be looking to tie that back up with a win on Sunday.

The NFL Pro Bowl is much aligned among players and fans because it's basically a watered down version of a real NFL game. This game features a number of rule variations designed to male the game safer for the players.


Variations such as…

No motion or shifting by the offense

Offense must have a TE in all formations

Offense can’t have 3 receivers on a side

Intentional grounding is legal

Defense must run a 4-3 at all times

No press coverage except inside the 5 yard line

No blitzing

Not allowed to rush a Punt, PAT or FG attempt

No calls can be challenged


Here is a team by team breakdown of the starters for each squad.



Baltimore- Vonta Leach, fullback, Ray Lewis, inside/middle linebacker
Ed Reed, free safety,Ben Grubbs, guard Marshal Yanda, guard

Cincinnati- A.J. Green, wide receiver

Cleveland – Joe Thomas, offensive tackle

Denver – Champ Bailey, cornerback *Ryan Clady, offensive tackle -Brian Dawkins, strong safety, Elvis Dumervil, defensive end, Von Miller, outside linebacker

Indianapolis – Dwight Freeney, defensive end

Jacksonville- Maurice Jones-Drew, running back, Montell Owens, special-teamer

Kansas City – Tamba Hali, outside linebacker

N.Y. Jets- D'Brickashaw Ferguson, offensive tackle, Nick Mangold, center

Oakland – Richard Seymour, interior lineman

Pittsburgh – Ben Roethlisberger, quarterback, Mike Wallace, wide receiver

San Diego – Antonio Gates, tight end, Eric Weddle, free safety



Arizona- Larry Fitzgerald, wide receiver, Adrian Wilson, strong safety

Carolina -Ryan Kalil, center, Steve Smith, Wide receiver

Dallas- Jay Ratliff, interior lineman, DeMarcus Ware, outside linebacker

Green Bay – Clay Matthews, outside linebacker, Aaron Rodgers, quarterback, Charles Woodson, cornerback

Minnesota- Jared Allen, defensive end

New Orleans – Jahri Evans, guard, Jimmy Graham, tight end, Carl Nicks, guard

Philadelphia- Jason Babin, defensive end, LeSean McCoy, running back, Jason Peters, offensive tackle

San Francisco- Justin Smith, interior lineman, Joe Staley, offensive tackle, Patrick Willis, inside/middle linebacker

Seattle – Earl Thomas, free safety