Aussie Lose, Tri-Series Down To Decider

Sri Lanka pulled out the big guns to take final number two in Adelaide.

Robert Whiteby Robert White

Despite Australia’s good batting performance, Sri Lanka completed a lop-sided victory to even the Tri-series finals at one game apiece.

Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene put together a 179-run partnership during the opening partnership to set up an eight wicket, 34 ball victory.

Both openers were simply brilliant with the bat. Dilshan registered 106 while smashing 10 boundaries and Jayawardene had 80 of his own (from 76 balls) with eight boundaries and a six.

Dinesh Chandimal and Kumar Sangakkara were the only other batsman to even make it to the crease and both played efficient innings to complete the victory.

The impressive batting of Sri Lanka came after a hard-fought performance by Michael Clarke and David Warner as the two played through pain to set up Australia’s impressive total of 272.

Clarke played with an injured back and Warner through a groin strain, but the duo still managed to put together a 184-run partnership that saved an otherwise unimpressive batting effort.

Clarke reached the century mark from just 81 balls and ended up with 117 before being run out by Rangana Herath. Warner also reached the century mark before being caught by Dilshan off a Lasith Malinga bowl.

The Australian captain was so troubled by his back that he struggled to run between wickets during the later stages of his innings, but he benefitted from a lot of luck earlier on, including being dropped on 77 before hitting 18 runs off the next four deliveries.

Clarke and Watson's batting was badly needed as Matthew Wade and Shane Watson weren’t great and Australia initially looked quite shaky. Wade was bowled by Dilshan for 14 and Watson was run out 15.

Youngsters James Pattinson and Xavier Doherty, two emerging Australia bowlers, didn’t have much impact and Brett Lee and Clint McKay were also expensive options in an poor day for the Australian fielders.

The deciding final will be played again in Adelaide on Thursday.